Why I’m here

Super busy and crazy week!!
But first things first–Exciting news! L was baptized!!

Back row: Sister Hathaway, me, Shannon, Joey Front row: Anna, Nathan, Leah, Aaron

It was an amazing baptism, when she came back up the steps and her mom gave her a towel, she just looked up at us and said ‘I just feel so happy.’ She had asked that the water in the font was cold, because she wanted it to feel refreshing and clean, because she was. After she was baptized, she bore her testimony and said that she was so happy she was baptized because she knows it is bringing her closer to Heavenly Father, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost so she can live with them again. She was so excited and ready to be baptized. Her mom is right behind her. At church on Sunday A, who’s four, asked ‘when is my mom going under the water?’ I told her ‘soon’ :)

IMG_1951

The T family moved to Germany this week :( This sums up our relationship with them. They are awesome and hilarious and they have helped strengthen my testimony so much. We have had some amazing gospel conversations with them.

We went on exchanges with Sister Woodard and Sister Bradford this week–Sister Woodard and I stayed here in Stevens Creek. We were visiting potentials and knocked on one, but the woman who answered the door said they moved in January. And she promptly began to cry. We asked her what was wrong, and she told us that just minutes before, she had found out her aunt, who practically raised her, had suddenly passed away. We talked with her for a while, and gave her a Book of Mormon, testifying to her that in every time of trial and hardship, when I have turned to the Book of Mormon, I have found peace. That it contains everything you need for hope and joy in this life. Before we finished asking her if she would read it, she told us she’d start right away, that she wants that peace. At the end of the conversation she told us that she knew we were sent by God, that He knew she was far from family and needed support and love, and sent it in the best way possible–through His messengers. That it was His way of letting her know He cares and loves her. That is why I’m here. That is why I’m a missionary. To help people here in Georgia receive comfort and joy through times of trial.

In other news, this past Thursday we drove to Statesboro to have a half mission conference with Elder Kopischke of the 70, where we had an amazing conference with so much guidance. Friday Sister Hathaway and I drove to Macon to have a mission leadership council with Elder Kopischke, where we received more training and instruction on how to help the mission improve. it was an amazing experience–each time a general authority comes he shakes up the mission and motivates me to be better :)

IMG_1930

Sister Christensen, me, Sister Munton (the three from my MTC district to come to GMM! We were at the conference together, which was also our one year mark. Weird!! And cool to be together for it)​

I love you all!
Sister Waddoups

One thought on “Why I’m here

  1. I love your enthusiasm, Lauren! I met a guy who has been called to your mission. He’s Elder Thornton. He’s a twin, and his brother will serve in South Carolina, I think. Anyway, our nephew (Dave’s sister’s son) married a girl named Kelsie Thornton from Las Vegas, and her twin brothers are the ones leaving on missions soon. So if you meet Elder Thornton you can say, “My aunt is your sister Kelsie’s aunt now.” That’ll do it. Sure love you,
    Susie

Comments are closed.